Northern Region

Hon. Zunglana Col. Mahamoud Tahiru


Council of State


Colonel Alhaj Mahamoud Tahiru is a retired senior officer of the Ghana Armed Forces.  He rose through the ranks to the rank of Colonel and was the Director of Finance of the Ghana Army.  He has immense experience in conflict resolution and has served in various capacities on several peace support missions worldwide.

Colonel Alhaj Mahamoud Tahiru is the Zung Lana, Chief of Zung in the Northern Region.

He is an Executive Master of Appropriate Dispute Resolution (ADR) certified by Gamey and Gamey Institute, Africa. Colonel also has a Certificate in Senior Staff Course from the Ghana Armed Forces Command and Staff College. From Finance Officer, Central Command, Kumasi, to Director Finance, Army Headquarters, Ghana Army, he rose through the ranks. Colonel also worked with the United Nations Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL), the United Nations Organization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUC), and the Monitoring Group of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOMOG), to name a few.

As a staff officer, he advised the Commander on Israel’s withdrawal from Lebanon, as well as the restoration of international peace and security in southern Lebanon. Keeping an eye on the cessation of hostilities, Supporting the Lebanese Armed Forces as they deploy throughout Lebanon’s south, ensuring humanitarian access to civilians and the safe return of displaced people, and incurring financial costs.

In addition, as Platoon Commander, Ghana Battalion United Nations Transitional Authority in Cambodia (UNTAC) he oversaw the ceasefire and the cessation of foreign military assistance. Monitored the withdrawal of foreign forces, reorganized, cantoned, and disarmed all Cambodian parties’ armed forces, and ensured a 70% level of demobilization. Controlled and supervised the administrative structures’ activities, including the police. Ensured the observance of human rights, Elections were held in a free and fair manner.

He is currently the Northern Region’s member of the Council of State.